Panic Attacks.

I was in Central America last week and had a few episodes.

It could have been the fact I am a somewhat novice traveler and was carrying about $800 in cash and traveler's checks on me.

I will be starting yoga soon.
geiginni wrote:How about commemorative clock celebrating glorious anniversary of dead heros of great patriotic NASCAR?

Panic Attacks.

wiggins wrote:What exactly does a "panic attack" usually entail? I feel like I've had these before, but I have no clue how to gauge their mildness. I feel like mine are pretty mild: sweaty palms, increased heart rate, shallow breathing, hair-tugging, rapidly clenching and stretching of my hands.

That's a pretty impressive set of symptoms, young wiggins!

There is also perhaps the feeling that you need to escape immediately from wherever you are at that particular moment in time.

That's another fun symptom!

Of course, I'm neither a doctor nor a frequent sufferer of severe panic attacks. However, you might want to lay off the G.D. caffeine and get some G.D. exercise. Some people also get help from the pillz.

Hey! Don't screw around with panic attacks!

They mess you up good!

Panic Attacks.

About 10 years ago, I had two. They occurred when I was sleeping off drinking pretty seriously for about 3 days straight. Woke up feeling the most intense fear I've ever felt, which didn't subside until my body became too exhausted to stay awake (about 3.5 hours).

The 3+ hour internal dialog went something like this:

"OHSHITOHSHITOHSHITOHSHIT...why am I so scared? No one is here...everything is OK...OHSHITOHSHITOHSHIT...", ad nauseum.

The second one coincided with an extremely realistic nightmare consisting of a violent tornado coming straight for me. I couldn't tell if I was awake or dreaming, more so than usual. That was the weirdest part, really, as I kept waking up to look outside, and the huge, extremely menacing tornado would disappear and reappear, as would the completely destroyed scenery...