to trem or not to trem?

so I'm buying a new rickenbacker solid-body on friday (fingers crossed) and the model I want comes with either no-trem, standard or also factory fitted with a vibrato arm that can bend both up and down.

some asking around to a good friend has me weighing which one I want more, and the pros and cons of each. I'm almost set on the no trem version, as that's the one I've been eyeing for three years (almost to the date), but the availabiliity of the trem arm has me curious.

any advice on things to look for/listen for or any other input would be greatly appreciated.

I've never had a nice gguitar with a trem arm, and would love some input. It's the same manufacturer and scale as my current main guitar, but it has humbuckers instead of single coils and a full through maple-neck instead of a bolt-on, so it should sound different enough to begin with.

there's also a $170 price difference between the two (which isn't really that much).

fire away.

thnks!
kerble is right.

to trem or not to trem?

Hardtail.

The only trems that work well enough not to be a pain are Steinberger, Kahler, Floyd-Rose and their ilk, and I'm guessing you don't want one of those adorning your shiny new guitar?

Buy a vintage-style trem and in no time you'll find yourself engaging in lengthy, heated debates relating to which brand of pencil reduces string-stickage most significantly...

to trem or not to trem?

Also, and I could be very very wrong here, but after a certain age, doesn't one know, deep down inside, whether one is a trem person or a non-trem person, like knowing if you prefer gentlemen or ladies, or cats or dogs. It's important to experiment, sure, but after a while, you just know. Some may like both equally, but I think most of us are either/or. I'm not saying it's right, but...