Guitar playing thread

Let's talk about guitar playing. Technique, exercises, things you found helpful, picks, strings, etc. Let's keep it about guitar playing and not amps, pedals, or even guitars themselves. I'll go first: I started practicing scales and also breaking down chords and improvising on those structures. I think it helps me break out of my patterns, but there's still a long way to go. For instance, I want to figure out how to walk across the fretboard - usually what I do is play around the nut or middle of the neck, then jump to the octave above past the 12th fret. It's funny because I think I can do it well on bass, but the two extra strings on the guitar stump me, I guess. Anyone has exercises that help with this kind of stuff?I'm also trying to figure out the right pick for me. I've settled on a pick for bass like a decade ago, and I can play with anything that's thick enough, but I can't get used to one guitar pick. Everything is either too thick or too thin. I'm thinking of trying those Jazz III picks. They're pretty thick, but small, so I might have more control with them.This is a pretty dorky thread, but let's see what you got. I also totally expect to get kerbled with a 5 post thread from 2004.

Guitar playing thread

Thanks! This is helpful!As far as fingerpicking, I do that a lot, but almost exclusively when I play acoustic guitar. It doesn't have the same sound as a pick and you can do fast alternate picking on one string.I didn't mean that we shouldn't talk about guitars in this thread! But that the discussion should be limited to how the guitar affects someone's playing.Keep this stuff coming. I hope I'm not the only dork who will ask questions here.

Guitar playing thread