Cymbals

Got a used Slingerland drum kit courtesy of a very generous friend. I bought a cymbal pack, and HATE the cymbals.

Can anyone recommend a brand/line of cymbals? I'm looking for 13" hi-hats and an 18" crash. I bought a Zildjian ZBT cymbal pack with 14" hi-hats and a 16" crash, but they just sound horrible.

I'm in no rush, since I just started playing...I just want to have an idea of what to look for when I browse Ebay with my free time at work.

Thanks yo.

Cymbals

Zildjian K's, Paiste Signatures, and Paiste Rudes. I like the Rude HiHiats. These are pretty much all handmade cymbals so they can be pretty expensive. -- Also, because they are handmade, no two cmbals will sound exactly the same. Go to a store and choose wisely. --It's best if you can audition them with your own kit.
"Fuck compose, Fuck melody, Dedicated to no one, Thanks to no one, ART IS OVER".
-Juntaro Yamanouchi

Cymbals

I play super hard and heavy, so I use 15" hats, 20 Paiste 2002 crash, a 22" Zildjian A Custom ride as a low crash and a 24" Paiste 2002 ride. Big and heavy is how I like them, because eventually they break.

I find any crash under 18" to be too thin a sound to be heard in just about any mix as anything other than a burst of static. I like the Zildjian A Customs for just about anything, as long as they're LARGE.

If you need any help setting up and tuning your vintage kit, it's what I have done for a living off and on for ages. I really enjoy tuning and fixing drums. you can always bring it up and drop it off with me when you visit your girl in Law School. I'll have it ready before you head home.
Redline wrote:Not Crap. The sound of death? The sound of FUN! ScrrreeEEEEEEE

Cymbals

I have been using Zildjian A 17", 18" and 19" Rock crashes for a long time now and I like them quite a bit. They also have a great return policy. As far as ride cymbals go, buy whatever Mike G. from Tar played because in my opinion it is the best sounding ride cymbal ever.

Jon

Cymbals