Finding a job sucks thread

I am writing to vent, because ugh... I just feel so fucking awful at the moment. Long story short, I'm a self-taught software engineer with 20 years experience and support a family of 4 on my income and stuck having to find a new job.

Granted, I have a job, but after speaking with the president of the company a few weeks ago and being frank with him that it's clear the company is going down hill, he suggested I should look for a new job because he can't guarantee there won't be layoffs in the near future. So my job is a ticking time bomb. I haven't had to look for a job in about 6 years. The landscape has changed: most jobs are remote and the pool of candidates is obviously bigger. I already work remote and I would like to keep it that way. I also took my current job at a high position. While I can do it with my eyes closed, finding a job for the experience level is really difficult because the stakes are so much greater. I have been getting rejection after rejection before I even get a chance to have a conversation. There's plenty of jobs out there, and I'm considering doing a slight pivot that I know I am qualified for. I can't tell if recruiters think I'm over-qualified, under-qualified, or haven't worked anywhere they find interesting enough. My resume is long and I've worked at many places, but I don't job hop, it's just the nature of the business.